Zimro Trio

Friday, 15th November 2019 at 7.30pm


Formed in 2006 at the Swaledale Festival, the Zimro Trio is an exuberant force on the chamber music scene whose approach to playing combines fun and passion with the spirit of adventure.
Its three members – Neyire Ashworth (clarinet), Daniel Becker (piano) and Paul Barritt (violin, viola) – are among the UK’s leading chamber musicians. Paul is well-known to north-east audiences from his days as leader of the Northern Sinfonia.

Their concert includes Mozart’s delightful Kegelstatt Trio and a new work by Huw Watkins, whom many will remember as composer-in-residence and pianist at the 2018 Corbridge Chamber Music Festival. It ends with an arrangement of the suite from Copland’s Appalachian Spring.

‘(We have) never heard such perfect ensemble playing at our venue’ – Steyning Music Society


Milhaud Suite for Violin, Clarinet and Piano, op. 157b
Huw Watkins Dream
Bartók Contrasts for Violin, Clarinet and Piano, Sz. 111
Mozart Clarinet Trio in E flat major, K498 (Kegelstatt Trio)
Gershwin (arr. Birtel) Three Preludes
Copland (arr. Hannan) Suite from Appalachian Spring


Hear the Zimro Trio play music by Mozart, Khachaturian and Bartók on their website – www.zimro.co.uk

2019/20 Concerts