Foyle-Štšura Duo

Monday, 12th November 2018 – 7.30pm


Michael Foyle (violin) and Maksim Štšura (piano) started performing together in 2012 and have won acclaim for the ‘astonishing mutual understanding, feeling and responsiveness’ of their playing. They play entirely from memory. Success at two international chamber music competitions in Verona and London in 2015 led to engagements in venues as diverse as the Wigmore Hall, Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, New York, Mexico, Tallinn and St. Petersburg – and even Buckingham Palace. Their concert for us marks the centenary of the end of the First World War and includes Elgar’s violin sonata, one of three great chamber works composed in a late outpouring of creativity in 1918 and 1919.


Janáček Sonata for Violin and Piano
Elgar Violin Sonata in E minor, op. 82
Debussy Sonata for Violin and Piano in G minor
Respighi Sonata for Violin and Piano in B minor

2018/19 Concerts

[ultimate_carousel slide_to_scroll=”single” slides_on_desk=”3″ slides_on_mob=”1″ arrow_color=”#ffffff” dots=”off”]